Recipe box memories – chocolate chip cookies

It started with a cactus. I wanted to find a way to display it, and thought my old Fiesta-ware teapot would make a nice home. Since I filled the pot with a plant, I no longer needed the lid… and my philosophy is ‘hide it away’…

Away it went, into an old recipe box…. already occupied by a memory.

In it, an old letter to my mother from a childhood friend.

Along with an update on life at that moment in time, the letter contains the recipe for the best chocolate cookies I have ever hand, hands down. They’re perfectly soft, chocolatey, gooey, with enough texture to be exciting but not enough to detract from the simplicity of a chocolate chip cookie.

The find wasn’t just the recipe… it’s the flood of memories that came back. Cooking with my mother in the kitchen of the house I grew up in. Making tiny doll-sized cookies so my Barbies could have a tea party (all so I could eat more than just one!) The last memory I have of this recipe from my childhood was desperately searching for it one summer afternoon. I never found it. Funny how things show up years later, in the strangest places.

Chocolate chip cookies

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 c. softened butter
  • 1 box instant vanilla pudding mix (this is the secret!)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Mix the above together.
Then add the following to the mixture:

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 c. oatmeal (optional)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 package of semi-sweet chocolate chips

At this point, you can chill the dough to make it a little harder, or you can grease a cookie sheet, spoon those babies out, and pop ‘em into the oven.

Bake at 350 for about 8 to 10 minutes, then revel in the delight that is a warm, homemade chocolate chip cookie.

comment!

